service questions (1)
by bassment boi 14 years ago
The following message (subject: service questions) was posted by bassment boi, on 5/20/2006 9:05:56 AM:
|Hey, that's a neat forum! I have a few service rules questions.|
What happens when one serves a good backspin serve, which bounces right back to server's side of the table? Can you cross over to his/hers side of the court and hit the ball when it has already passed the net and it's once again over his/hers side of the table?
If not, how can I defend against such a serve? Sometimes it bounces not much more than 3-4 inches on my side of the table and crawls straight back over the net. My pushes either end up in the net or I pop it too high, so I get killed with the 3rd. The only good point is that the server is not producing it consistently. He's improving though.
I am a backhand server but I recently decided to give a forehand a go. Sometimes I hit my belly with the bat when I serve, but after I hit the ball. Is one allowed to touch any part of his/hers body with the bat during the service action? Even when it happens after the ball is hit?