Free US Shipping over $50
Thousands of satisfied customers
Best Price Guarantee

WTTC 2008: China Retains Women's Crown

Top seeds, China retained their womenís crown at the Evergrande World Team Championships on Saturday 1st March 2008 when they beat second seeds, Singapore, by three matches to one.

The one success for Singapore came in the opening match of the final when Li Jia Wei beat Guo Yue in three straight games; however, from that moment onwards it was success after success for China.

Zhang Yining beat Feng Tianwei to level matters, Wang Nan defeated Wang Yue Gu in impressive style to give China the lead and Zhang Yining returned to the fray top secure the title with a four games win over Li Jia Wei.

Meanwhile, in the Menís Team event, the Chinese were in irresistible form. At the semi-final stage they overwhelmed Hong Kong China by three matches to nil.

Ma Lin started proceedings with a straight games win over Li Ching with both Wang Liqin and Wang Hao following suit. Wang Liqin overcame Tang Peng whilst Wang Hao brought matters to an end with victory over Cheung Yuk.

Success for China and in the final they will meet Korea in a repeat of the 2006 Liebherr World Team Championships final.

Korea overcame Japan by three matches to nil with Ryu Seung Min, the reigning Olympic champion, the backbone of success.

He beat both Kaii Yoshida and Jun Mizutani whilst Lee Jung Woo added the one further success with victory over Jun Mizutani.

The one success for Japan came from Kan Yo; he beat Joo Se Hyuk.

Womenís Team Final

Guo Yue v Li Jia Wei 9-11, 11-13, 9-11
Zhang Yining v Feng Tianwei 11-5, 10-12, 11-8, 11-6
Wang Nan v Wang Yue Gu 11-5, 11-5, 11-4
Zhang Yining v Li Jia Wei 9-11, 11-8, 11-4, 11-3

Menís Team Semi-Final

Li Ching v Ma Lin 7-11, 7-11, 17-19
Tang Peng v Wang Liqin 8-11, 5-11, 8-11
Cheung Yuk v Wang Hao 5-11, 2-11, 5-11

Menís Team Semi-Final

Ryu Seung Min v Kaii Yoshida 11-5, 11-5, 14-12
Lee Jung Woo v Jun Mizutani 11-9, 8-11, 11-5, 5-11, 11-3
Joo Se Hyuk v Kan Yo 11-9, 7-11, 11-6, 8-11, 4-11
Ryu Seung Min v Jun Mizutani 12-14, 11-9, 7-11, 11-9, 11-4

Related Articles:

 Timo Boll writes his name in history books

 Sensational Singapore in Moscow

 Samsonov wins his 3rd World Cup

 Michael Maze and Wu Jiaduo are European Champions

 Obama Purchases Stiga 410Q Table Tennis Table

 Vote for Biba!

 Wang Hao is new World Champion

 First WTTC without speed glue

 Killerspin signs India no. 1

 Table Tennis on TV (US Only)

View all Articles