Free US Shipping over $50
Thousands of satisfied customers
Best Price Guarantee

World Team Cup: Double Success for China

ITTF Press Release

China won both the menís and womenís titles at the World Team Cup in Magdeburg on Sunday 7th October 2007; in the menís team event they beat Hong Kong in the final whilst in the counterpart female competition it was Korea who had to settle for the silver medal.

In both finals they succeed by three matches to nil but the contests were closer that the score lines may suggest.

Zhang Yining, the reigning Olympic champion and the player ranked number one on the ITTF Womenís World Ranking list since January 2003, was on the brink of defeat against Park Mi Young. In the opening match of the Womenís Team final she saved one match point against the Korean defender before securing victory.

Tense moments for China in the first duel but there were no more in the female final. Guo Yue overcame Lee Eun Hee and the fixture came to an end with doubles success. Guo Yue and Li Xiaoxia defeated Kim Kyung Ah and Park Mi Young.

Meanwhile, in the Menís Team final it was the doubles that caused heart stopping moments for China. The Hong Kong pair of Ko Lai Chak and Leung Chu Yan led Ma Lin and Wang Hao 7-1 in the fifth game of their duel before the latter duo won ten of the next twelve points to clinch victory.

The doubles success secured the title for China. Earlier in the contest Wang Liqin and Wang Hao had recorded wins over Li Ching and Leung Chu Yan in their respective singles duels.

Menís Final
Wang Liqin v Li Ching 11-8, 11-5, 11-7
Wang Hao v Leung Chu Yan 12-14, 11-3, 11-8, 11-7
Ma Lin/Wang Hao v Ko Lai Chak/Leung Chu Yan

Womenís Final
Zhang Yining v Park Mi Young 11-5, 8-11, 8-11, 12-10, 11-2
Guo Yue v Lee Eun Hee 11-5, 11-7, 11-9
Guo Yue/Li Xiaoxia v Kim Kyung Ah/Park Mi Young 11-3, 13-11, 11-7

Related Articles:

 Timo Boll writes his name in history books

 Sensational Singapore in Moscow

 Samsonov wins his 3rd World Cup

 Michael Maze and Wu Jiaduo are European Champions

 Obama Purchases Stiga 410Q Table Tennis Table

 Vote for Biba!

 Wang Hao is new World Champion

 First WTTC without speed glue

 Killerspin signs India no. 1

 Table Tennis on TV (US Only)

View all Articles